So last night I started talking about some of the auckland retail services we wanted to develop. You see it’s the overhead that threatens viability in terms of having to work over the long term to achieve a profit, whereas innovating to reduce overhead puts the retail front closer to achieving viability, which is of course a point from which to build and branch out from.
But then gosh, I don’t know, something happened and I really got hold of some crazy ideas for building out in the retail space and looking at some locations I came up with a new plan which I think could be really solid.
Hi it’s me, Matt from Kurb – always lots of opportunities for you to get cheap cd dvd disc reproduction, copying – printing, plus marketing strategies for small business and projects, design and online marketing for clients and customers all over the world, new zealand and right here in Auckland!
contact: email@example.com or visit our site at www.kurb.co.nz
www.kurb.co.nz – firstname.lastname@example.org – 027 684 8250 begin_of_the_skype_highlighting 027 684 8250
So the space I’m looking at now is pretty much a blank canvas that offers a lot of utility.
So initially we roll forward with the initial idea.
The service point for our cd dvd stuff and printing, services from internet cafe to
starting wages: $400
I have to come up with a $1000 p/week just to run the place!
But it would be easy to have someone living there and alter hours to suit needs, reducing costs to $500.
The advantages of course are that I can develop retail and consulting quickly and then bound into hospitality.
My idea for the 2nd stage of hospitality after serving food and coffee, is an alcohol free venue. That would probably take 6 months including 3 months having irregular parties.
To hold an alcohol free event:
$100 – doorman 10pm – 3-6am
$100 – bar service 9pm – 3-6am
$50 bonus – for whoever opens next day and has to clean up.
profit: 50-100 x $8 ($10 entry minus free drink) = $4-800
might sell $50 food too . . .
total: $200 – $600
but what do i need to start making money now? Firstly a workstation set up, firstly for the worker in attendance and then possibly 2 more for an internet cafe
Roskill and Jerry Lee on the shelves, the print deals up on the wall, a leased copier, a coffee machine and a pie warmer.
here were my ideas for initial income from a past post on auckland retail marketing strategy
– Set up comprehensive pricings from printers
-$200 p/week – $400 p/week
– Source plastics from supplier and electronic items from
– $100 p/week – $200
– lease colour copier
– $50 p/week – $100
– set up internet desks
– $50 p/week
– drinks fridge + hot food warmer
– $100 p/week
– coffee machine
– $100 p/week – $200
– add boutique items
– $50 – $200
in this list I was very confident about the printing. And why not, you know that business is there, the idea is to take up the location, and get aggressive. We have to push the printing, and take jobs where they only want 10 copies, make $5.
How much plasticware and tech can I sell? I need to find out what people want to buy. What they need.
Prompting Jerry and other suppliers to get what people want, otherwise I could use up a lot of money testing the market. But I think we need to start bringing in CD/DVD stuff ourselves. If I was get 10,000 DVD’s for $1000 I could be selling 200 x 50 packs for $16? 200 x $13 profit = $2600 what every 3 months? just from blank discs and stuff?
so in a day we’d hope for:
$100 printing job
$100 plastics and tech retail / internet and services / general retail
$100 coffee and food
This again is not covering pick up in cd / dvd duplication and larger marketing and branding opportunities. So if I could make those margins I’d be doing dandy. Do people want websites and graphics and online marketing on the spot?
Half it, and it’s a different story. $50 a day and $500 on the weekend still won’t make rent and pay. It would be tempting to rely on party income, but really, we’re digging in for the long haul, what I’m hoping is just by sticking in for 6 months we’ll get enough notoriety to get people hanging round and knowing about the place for when we do step it up.
So anyway. What’s the cost of the set up?
Furniture and workstations, $2500
lease copier: $50 p/week
coffee machine $2000
food cabinets $2000
if we’re open 20 hrs a week, it’s $250 for wages and $22.50 in rent for every hour open, $35 in total, or $25 if sharing
If we’re open 50 hrs p/week, it’s $600 for wages and $9 rent for every hour open, $21.50 in total, or $17.50 if sharing.
It’s hard to know when the busy time is, 6 days, 6 hours going to 8 maybe, from 10am